The Case of the Negligent Nymph

  • Title: The Case of the Negligent Nymph
  • Author: Erle Stanley Gardner
  • ISBN: 9780345305596
  • Page: 386
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback
  • The Case of the Negligent Nymph While Perry Mason is enjoying a moonlit canoe ride he admires a naked bathing beauty Little does he know he ll soon be rescuing her and that next day he ll have to clear her of a jewlery theft charge
    While Perry Mason is enjoying a moonlit canoe ride, he admires a naked bathing beauty Little does he know he ll soon be rescuing her and that next day he ll have to clear her of a jewlery theft charge But then she s suddenly charged again this time with murder It takes all of Perry s wiles, Della s insights, and Paul Drake s deft detecting to solve The Case of the NegWhile Perry Mason is enjoying a moonlit canoe ride, he admires a naked bathing beauty Little does he know he ll soon be rescuing her and that next day he ll have to clear her of a jewlery theft charge But then she s suddenly charged again this time with murder It takes all of Perry s wiles, Della s insights, and Paul Drake s deft detecting to solve The Case of the Negligent Nymph.Erle Stanley Gardnew is the king of American mystery fiction A criminal lawyer, he filled his mystery masterpieces with intricate, fascinating, ever twisting plots Challenging, clever, and full of surprises, these are whodunits in the best tradition.

    • The Case of the Negligent Nymph - Erle Stanley Gardner
      386 Erle Stanley Gardner
    • thumbnail Title: The Case of the Negligent Nymph - Erle Stanley Gardner
      Posted by:Erle Stanley Gardner
      Published :2019-06-14T09:02:56+00:00

    About Erle Stanley Gardner


    1. Erle Stanley Gardner was an American lawyer and author of detective stories who also published under the pseudonyms A.A Fair, Kyle Corning, Charles M Green, Carleton Kendrake, Charles J Kenny, Les Tillray, and Robert Parr.Innovative and restless in his nature, he was bored by the routine of legal practice, the only part of which he enjoyed was trial work and the development of trial strategy In his spare time, he began to write for pulp magazines, which also fostered the early careers of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler He created many different series characters for the pulps, including the ingenious Lester Leith, a gentleman thief in the tradition of Raffles, and Ken Corning, a crusading lawyer who was the archetype of his most successful creation, the fictional lawyer and crime solver Perry Mason, about whom he wrote than eighty novels With the success of Perry Mason, he gradually reduced his contributions to the pulp magazines, eventually withdrawing from the medium entirely, except for non fiction articles on travel, Western history, and forensic science.See at enpedia wiki Erle_Sta


    980 Comments


    1. Perry Mason was engaged in a case of a company against a millionaire landowner - on the company side. Corporate law never fails to put me to sleep; this is the reason why I would never make a good corporate lawyer and this in turn is the reason why I still struggle to pay my mortgage. So a two-line explanation of Mason's problem made me bored, but luckily it did not matter at all. What mattered is that the famous lawyer was surveying the millionaire's island mansion late in the evening from a ca [...]

      Reply

    2. " But those who have been following the astonishing legal career of Perry Mason point out that hurling questions at him in front of a jury is apt to be a dangerous pastime."Too true. :)I don't know why I gave this book originally 2-stars only. Maybe I was not in the mood?? But on re-reading it, I have definitely changed my mind. Perry Mason is brilliant as ever and it's just as well as he needs all his cunning to extricate Dorothy Fenner, his extremely troublesome client as well as himself from [...]

      Reply

    3. I've been reading Gardner's Perry Mason books off and on for many years. Many years ago, I was an intense fan of the series, and read them all, at least once. Now, after a lot of water over the dam, I'm looking at them again.Those who are used to really fine mystery writers, such as Ross Macdonald, may find the writing style here off-putting. It can be stiff and mechanical. Nonetheless, I still love the general setting: the characters of Perry, Della, Paul, Lt. Tragg, and Hamilton Berger. That, [...]

      Reply

    4. In The Case of the Negligent Nymph Perry Mason is floating in a canoe while keeping a pair of binoculars trained on the island hide-away home of George Alder. Mason is looking for a chink in the businessman's armor--a chink that will help his clients manage a claim for drilling rights. He's not sure what he expects to seebut he's certain that he didn't expect to see a woman swim up to the sandspit beach, climb nude out of the water, don a summer evening gown, and sneak up to the house where a pa [...]

      Reply

    5. Good old Perry Mason! Erle Stanley Gardner was at the top of every legal-mystery reader's list back in the day (this one was originally published in 1949, I believe) -- and how far we've come since in this genre! A great glimpse into all the conventions of the day -- the "silly little girl" attitude, the whirling and accusatory pointing actions the characters make, among others -- but the mystery itself was not particularly difficult to solve and Perry's explanation at the end seemed like a "for [...]

      Reply

    6. This book started out well. I think it is one of the few books where in the client was not entirely honest. I really liked the courtroom maneovers shown here. It showed the real tactics lawyers use in courts. Mason had to rely on keeping up pretences and the end is completely on luck, as accepted by him too. Enjoyable.

      Reply

    7. My Rating System:* couldn't finish, ** wouldn't recommend, *** would recommend, **** would read again, ***** have read again.

      Reply

    8. A very attention grabbing opener and a very unpleasant client are the highlights here. Unfortunately gets long in tooth at the end (compared to other Mason books, of course).

      Reply

    9. This story starts with Perry Mason alone in a canoe examining an estate and suddenly a naked woman (the negligent nymph) rises out of the water and makes landfall. She then dresses in an evening gown and proceeds to surreptitiously enter the estate. Suddenly, there is an alarm and the woman comes running back to the water with a guard dog hot on her trail. Just as the dog is about to catch her, Mason intervenes, forcing the dog back to land. He then helps the girl into the canoe and assists her [...]

      Reply

    10. While Perry Mason is enjoying a moonlit canoe ride, he admires a naked bathing beauty. Little does he know he'll soon be rescuing her- and that next day he'll have to clear her of a jewlery-theft charge. But then she's suddenly charged again- this time with murder. It takes all of Perry's wiles, Della's insights, and Paul Drake's deft detecting to solve The Case of the Negligent Nymph.Erle Stanley Gardner is the king of American mystery fiction. A criminal lawyer, he filled his mystery masterpie [...]

      Reply

    11. There was the dog, Prince. He was scratching the inside of the closet where he was locked, when supposedly his master was getting murdered. Then there was the DA, Claude someone, who want to scratch Perry Mason's face. Charge him with accomplice to a murderer. So, Perry Mason is in the mud and cannot find a way to get up and get cleaned.This one is breathtaking, unputdownable, and a little disappointing at the same time, because of the abrupt ending. But at the end, its a satisfaction.You will l [...]

      Reply

    12. #35 in the Perry Mason series. This 1950 entry has one of Mason's all time best examples of courtroom pyrotechnics.Perry Mason series - Perry is in a rented canoe when he sees a young woman swimming to the George S. Alder island he is reconnoitering. A while later, she is on the run chased by an attack dog and is plucked from the water by Mason. He leaves her without identifying himself but the following day she has been arrested and is requesting attorney Perry Mason to represent her. Although [...]

      Reply

    13. Perry Mason is in a canoe observing a suspect at his lake house when a beautiful swimmer climbs into his canoe and tells him to paddle to shore quickly. The next day Perry finds out his rescued nymph is wanted for robbery and the police are looking for the man who took her to shore. Defending his client for robbery then turns into defending his client for a murder. It's a fun story line, plus Perry is trying to keep his own part in the mystery from the police. Lots of good twists and turns in th [...]

      Reply

    14. It's tempting to rate this 3 stars instead of 4, mainly on the basis of my not liking the defendant very much. But I won't. Also I wonder if the original appearance of this novel was in serialized form (I believe I recall that Erle Stanley Gardner was a favorite of the Saturday Evening Post), since its copyright date is listed as 1949, 1950.

      Reply

    15. Harvoin tulee näin hyvää kirjaa luettua yli kuukauden päivät. Kergemeelse nümfi kohtuasi tyypillinen Perry Mason -dekkari, jossa nuori kaunis neito joutuu ahdinkoon ja joutuu lopulta oikeuden eteen murhasta syytettynä. Poikkeuksellista on, että Perry Mason on itse paikalla, kun murhaan johtava tapahtumaketju saa alkunsa. Kirja on oikein viihdyttävää kesälukemista.

      Reply

    16. This is the usual Perry Mason mystery, but that's a good thing. I've never read a bad one. Gardner was quite adept at spinning a story and keeping the reader engaged. The mystery is not so much what happened as how Perry is once again going to prove the DA wrong.

      Reply

    17. Very solid pulp novel. My first Perry Mason novel. Lots of law babble, and was still understandable and entertaining. Most of my experience with the law stems from watching My Cousin Vinny, sooooooooo this is good.

      Reply

    18. A great Perry Mason story but no real Perry/Della moments. (That's the true reason I read these not gonna lie.)Recommended 12+ for language, murder, some innuendos, and some violence.

      Reply

    19. one of my favorite Perry Mason novels. I can't believe he got away from that one. :))

      Reply

    20. I really liked how Perry untangled himself from the mess he was in at the end of the book. Great fun!

      Reply

    21. Edition du 4 juin 1985

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *