Family of Origin

  • Title: Family of Origin
  • Author: C.J. Hauser
  • ISBN: 0385544626
  • Page: 129
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Family of Origin A novel at turns exuberant and wise in the vein of The Family Fang and The Portable Veblen about estranged half siblings yoked together on a swampy Gulf Coast island after their biolog
    A novel at turns exuberant and wise, in the vein of The Family Fang and The Portable Veblen, about estranged half siblings yoked together on a swampy Gulf Coast island after their biologist father s drowning.Welcome to Leap s Island, where a group of fringe scientists are obsessively studying the Undowny Bufflehead, a rare species of sea duck whose loss of waterproof feath A novel at turns exuberant and wise, in the vein of The Family Fang and The Portable Veblen, about estranged half siblings yoked together on a swampy Gulf Coast island after their biologist father s drowning.Welcome to Leap s Island, where a group of fringe scientists are obsessively studying the Undowny Bufflehead, a rare species of sea duck whose loss of waterproof feathers proves, they say, that evolution is running backward.Into this world of so called Reversalists come Elsa and Nolan Grey, a half brother and sister whose father, Dr Ian Grey, has recently drowned while desperately trying to prove his own evolutionary theories His estranged children find themselves on a pilgrimage to jointly reclaim his belongings and his memory, and to try to understand the stakes of the research he abandoned them to pursue.The Grey children, as the islanders come to call them, despite their being thirty five and twenty nine years old, are incredulous that their brilliant father could have believed in Reversalism s pseudoscience But as the siblings search for an elusive sea bird, confront the island s eccentrics, and hunt for signs their father still believed in progress, a darker question haunts them Is it their fault Dr Ian Grey gave up on us all Delightfully funny and fiercely original, Family of Origin grapples with questions of nature and nurture, evolution and mating, intimacy and betrayal, progress and forgiveness Get A Copy Kindle Store Online StoresAudibleBarnes NobleWalmart eBooksApple BooksGoogle PlayAbebooksBook DepositoryIndigoAlibrisBetter World BooksIndieBoundLibraries Or buy for Hardcover, 304 pages Expected publication July 16th 2019 by Doubleday Books More Details ISBN 0385544626 ISBN13 9780385544627 Other Editions 2 All Editions Add a New Edition Combine Less Detail edit details Win a Copy of This Book Family of Origin by C.J Hauser Author Release date Aug 06, 2019 A novel at turns exuberant and wise, in the vein of The Family Fang and The Portable Veblen, about estranged half siblings yoked together on a swampy A novel at turns exuberant and wise, in the vein of The Family Fang and The Portable Veblen, about estranged half siblings yoked together on a swampy Gulf Coast island after their biologist father s drowning.EARLY RAVES FOR FAMILY OF ORIGIN Family of Origin is a meditation on a singularly unique family that opens up to embrace all of us, every single family, every human being, and it doesn t let go It s amazing a supremely weird novel that displays humor and heartbreak in equal measure Kevin Wilson, author of The Family Fang In Family of Origin, CJ Hauser explores and explodes the most complex moments in life those moments with a power that spirals both backward and forward in time, those moments that shift in meaning and shape us into who we are This riveting and emotionally intricate book doesn t shy away from the deepest questions about how a family, and a species, can survive Helen Phillips, author of The Beautiful Bureaucrat CJ Hauser s Family of Origin is unexpected and beautiful and utterly propulsive Set in a world where colonizing Mars is a possibility, where a group of scientists and misfits believe that evolution is running in reverse, where love is strange and changeable and astonishing, Family of Origin reveals a new, spectacular universe I ve never read anything quite like it Anton DiSclafani, author of The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls Enter Giveaway Format Print book

    Giveaway ends in a 0 if false time_left days_left else time_left days_left days and if false time_left Math.floor hours_left%24 10 time_left Math.floor hours_left%24 %10 else time_left Math.floor hours_left%24 time_left Math.floor minutes_left%60 10 time_left Math.floor minutes_left%10 time_left Math.floor secs_left%60 10 time_left Math.floor secs_left%10 documenttElementById timer_288356nerHTML time_left timer_288356_updateTimer var timer_288356_updater setInterval timer_288356_updateTimer, 100

    Availability 15 copies available, 1683 people requesting

    Giveaway dates Jan 17 Feb 16, 2019

    Countries available U.S

    View details Friend Reviews To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up Reader QA To ask other readers questions about Family of Origin, please sign up

    Be the first to ask a question about Family of Origin

    Lists with This Book This book is not yet featured on Listopia Add this book to your favorite list Community Reviews Showing 1 32 Rating details Sort Default Filter Sharon rated it did not like it Jan 27, 2019 Snowden Wright rated it it was amazing Jan 13, 2019 Jacob Appel marked it as to read May 03, 2018 Rayjan Koehler marked it as to read May 04, 2018 Barry Collins marked it as to read May 04, 2018 Yanet marked it as to read May 04, 2018 Patricia marked it as to read May 04, 2018 Barbara Wilson marked it as to read May 04, 2018 Kelly marked it as to read May 05, 2018 Hazel marked it as to read May 10, 2018 Diana marked it as to read May 16, 2018 Mary marked it as to read May 27, 2018 Jennifer Dupee marked it as to read Jul 31, 2018 Liz Sullivan added it Nov 04, 2018 Elissa marked it as to read Nov 29, 2018 Jordan Glynn marked it as to read Nov 29, 2018 Jordan Glynn marked it as to read Nov 29, 2018 Cara marked it as to read Nov 29, 2018 Robert Radtke marked it as to read Nov 30, 2018 Lolly K Dandeneau is currently reading it Dec 01, 2018 KT Sparks marked it as to read Dec 02, 2018 Sara marked it as to read Dec 07, 2018 DuskyHued LadySatan marked it as to read Dec 07, 2018 Becki Word marked it as to read Dec 17, 2018 Andrea Rink marked it as to read Dec 31, 2018 Ramona Mead marked it as to read Jan 02, 2019 Jill marked it as to read Jan 03, 2019 Dana Cann marked it as to read Jan 03, 2019 Stacey marked it as to read Jan 05, 2019 Danielle Scarbro marked it as to read Jan 05, 2019 Anne marked it as to read Jan 06, 2019 Kim marked it as to read Jan 08, 2019 new topicDiscuss This Book There are no discussion topics on this book yet Be the first to start one Share Recommend It Stats Recent Status Updates Readers Also Enjoyed

    • Family of Origin By C.J. Hauser
      129 C.J. Hauser
    • thumbnail Title: Family of Origin By C.J. Hauser
      Posted by:C.J. Hauser
      Published :2019-01-02T09:21:14+00:00

    About C.J. Hauser


    1. CJ HAUSER is the author of the novels The From Aways William Morrow 2014 and Family of Origin Doubleday 2019.Her fiction has appeared in Tin House, Narrative Magazine, TriQuarterly, Esquire, Third Coast, and The Kenyon Review, and she is a recipient of The Amanda Davis Highwire Fiction Award She holds an MFA from Brooklyn College and a PhD from The Florida State University Hauser lives in Ha CJ HAUSER is the author of the novels The From Aways William Morrow 2014 and Family of Origin Doubleday 2019.Her fiction has appeared in Tin House, Narrative Magazine, TriQuarterly, Esquire, Third Coast, and The Kenyon Review, and she is a recipient of The Amanda Davis Highwire Fiction Award She holds an MFA from Brooklyn College and a PhD from The Florida State University Hauser lives in Hamilton, New York where she teaches creative writing and literature at Colgate University


    771 Comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *