The Bloody Cup

  • Title: The Bloody Cup
  • Author: M.K. Hume
  • ISBN: 9780755348718
  • Page: 349
  • Format: None
  • The Bloody Cup For many years the people of Briton have enjoyed peace and prosperity under the reign of King Artor and the Union of Kings Having spurned the despotism of his predecessor Uther Pendragon Arthur has
    For many years, the people of Briton have enjoyed peace and prosperity under the reign of King Artor and the Union of Kings Having spurned the despotism of his predecessor, Uther Pendragon, Arthur has ruled with a strong sense of duty, goodness and honour Artor is now weakening with age, however, and the seeds of discontent are being sown Seeking to cleanse the land ofFor many years, the people of Briton have enjoyed peace and prosperity under the reign of King Artor and the Union of Kings Having spurned the despotism of his predecessor, Uther Pendragon, Arthur has ruled with a strong sense of duty, goodness and honour Artor is now weakening with age, however, and the seeds of discontent are being sown Seeking to cleanse the land of Christian belief, dissenters need a symbol with which to legitimise their pagan claim and gather malcontents together into a cohesive weapon These shadowy, subversive elements seize upon the ancient cup of Bishop Lucius of Glastonbury as a way of fragmenting Artor s hard fought for kingdom But first, they must lay their hands on the relic and, in doing so, unleash a force for evil from which murder and violent mayhem ensue But it emerges that the ultimate threat to Artor s rule lies far closer to home Artor is betrayed by kin Celt will slay Celt and the river will run with blood.

    • The Bloody Cup By M.K. Hume
      349 M.K. Hume
    • thumbnail Title: The Bloody Cup By M.K. Hume
      Posted by:M.K. Hume
      Published :2019-08-03T09:31:40+00:00

    About M.K. Hume


    1. Marilyn K Hume is an Australian author, born in 1948, and based in Brisbane, Australia.Hume graduated as a teacher in 1967, specializing in Art and Ancient History before commencing teaching high school students While teaching, she studied university courses as an external student in English and Ancient History Along the way, Hume obtained a BA, an MA, a Master of Literary Studies degree and a Phd in Arthurian Literature.In 1996, Hume was encouraged to enter an historical romance writing competition conducted by the Random House Publishing Group under the sponsorship of a popular women s magazine Hume had no interest in romance writing, but she dashed off a novel based on her family history The novel won second prize from a massive field of recognised authors and she won 5,000 for her efforts.In 2007, Hume retired from the Queensland Education Department, and immediately commenced to write a trilogy based on the life and times of King Arthur of Britain.Hume s agent, the Dorie Simmonds Agency in London, brokered a contract with Headline Review to publish the three books in the trilogy This agreement soon became six books, for Hume soon produced a further trilogy on the life and times of Merlin, which is now a prequel to the Arthurian trilogy.Her works are now published at six monthly intervals, and the author maintains a punishing schedule involving eight hours of research and or writing every day She doesn t believe that there is any such thing as writer s block , and loves the whole creative process.Hume intends to write at least 30 novels before she drops off the perch She reads voraciously and adores meeting friends, attending rummage sales, making porcelain dolls and painting portraits.


    122 Comments


    1. This was the WORST arthurian novel I have ever read. There may be worse written books around but not one of them made me roll my eyes and grumple in anger like this one. I found it sexist, boring and full of lazy writing.I’ll address the boring part, first. The first and the second book of the trilogy are far better, in my opinion, especially the second book where Hume amazed me with wonderful and exciting descriptions of battles and war strategy. In this third novel there is a mix of differen [...]

      Reply

    2. I must say that this is one of favourite Arthurian retellings along with Mary Stewart's Merlin series and Nancy McKenzies Queen of Camelot duo.This trilogy by Hume is firmly in the Romano-Celtic frame of reference in the tradition of Rosemary Sutcliff and Jack Whyte.The third in the trilogy Arthur is now an aging monarch, and his evil son Mordered , king of the Brigantes is plotting insurrection and against his father and stirring up subversion.Mordred also is exposed at diabolical, sadistic and [...]

      Reply

    3. I've spent almost a year with this version of these characters in reading all six books in this series. Boy, will I miss them all. I cannot speak highly enough of M. K. Hume's writing style, research and characterization. To anyone who likes historical fiction, this series is for you. And to Arthur, or Artos, or Artor, I raise my cup to your legend and hope your legend continues to inspire people for as long as we tell stories.

      Reply

    4. I am officially a fan of M.K. Hume now. I quite loved this trilogy about King Artor and his times, especially how she's managed to take a legend and weave a believable story around it much like Victoria Grossack and Alice Underwood. I did not want this book to end at all which is why it took me so long to read. Give it a try even if you don't much care for Arthurian fiction.

      Reply

    5. I loved this series.

      Reply

    6. Originally published at Risingshadow.M. K. Hume's The Bloody Cup is the culmination of The King Arthur Trilogy. Everything that has happened before has been almost like a prelude to the happenings in this novel. The Blood Cup ends the epic story of King Arthur in a brilliant way. It's powerful story that will be of interest to readers of historical fiction and speculative fiction. I think that everybody who likes good historical fiction will find this novel interesting.Now that I've read the who [...]

      Reply

    7. Although "The Bloody Cup" by M.K. Hume is the third novel in her Arthurian trilogy, it is the first one I've read by the author. This retelling on the legend reveals a human, deeply flawed King Arthur, Queen Genevieve, and the other well known characters. While the story is based on history, fantasy makes an appearance in the pages. Years ago I read "The Mists Of Avalon," which is my favorite King Arthur book, plus many other tales by various authors. I enjoyed Ms Hume's fresh telling of the sto [...]

      Reply

    8. (This review first appeared on the sadly defunct website The Specusphere in 2010)The first two volumes of M. K. Hume’s Arthurian trilogy were released last year to critical acclaim. This concluding volume ties up the story into the climax that we all know is coming, but still manages to offer some surprises along the way.It begins some twenty years after the second volume and we witness Artor (Arthur) in decline. The glory days are far behind him and while he has the respect of many minor king [...]

      Reply

    9. "The High King departed from the kingdom of the Celts, and was seen no more."This probably wasn't the best book for me to read immediately after BBC's Merlin came to an end because it was an emotional overhaul.This book was my favourite in the trilogy because it really tied together everything that had happened in the past two books. I must say that Gawayne is my favourite in this series as M.K. Hume has a way of writing him so perfectly unperfect that I can't even think to like anyone more than [...]

      Reply

    10. An absolutely amazing next installment of the King Arthur trilogy/series. Just as, if not more, enjoyable than the first two. Within the first few pages I had easily sunk back into the general story and world of Artor. Not only did characters I love return but more characters (some of which have very interesting prospects in relation to the story) were introduced whom I also grew to love. I was very sad to see some of those familiar faces die even though I knew they must. At times the story did [...]

      Reply

    11. Una versión con fuerte contenido histórico y menos magia. Una novela con mucha investigación detrás, y muchas explicaciones a hechos que se volvieron fábula y símbolo. No por eso la novela deja de tener una épica excelentemente manejada. Los personajes, más reales, consolidan lo simbólico y nostálgico.No muy lejos de Mallory o los escritos del "Livre du Graal", la leyenda Artúrica se consolida, la lectura apasiona y su desenlace, harto conocido, emociona igual que en las lecturas temp [...]

      Reply

    12. I was very pleased with this series. As a reader if Arthurian novels, you start out knowing the end, but it is the way that the author takes you to the conclusion that counts. This trilogy read like it could have happened the way she wrote it I love "magic" in my Arthur tales but sometimes it is nice to read something that could happen. I will say that every time that she mentioned how very ancient Arthur was at age 61 it made me cringe since that is my age :)All in all this trilogy was fun, int [...]

      Reply

    13. I found this a disappointing end to an otherwise compelling series. It struck me at times that the author had a third boom to write so it was provided. The story lacked the flow of the earlier books and was all very obvious.

      Reply

    14. another brilliant instalment into the series of King Arthur. Exceptionally well written and this one followed on perfectly and seamless from the first, I found myself once again immersed in the world of King Artor and his kingdom.

      Reply

    15. Brilliant book about Artor (Arthur Pendragon). This trilogy is worth reading to any Arthurian fan.

      Reply

    16. So so good. Arthur portrayed not as a mythical character but as a man you or I can relate to. This is by far my Favorite Arthurian legend series. I can't wait to read her merlin prophecies trilogy

      Reply

    17. Check out my review @ redfoxtalesblog

      Reply

    18. I think this one should have been the first book since the first two books alluded to most of what happened in this book but this put it in more detail.

      Reply

    19. An amazing ending to an equally amazing trilogy. A must-read for every King Arthur fan! Hume really did the legend of King Arthur justice with her books.

      Reply

    20. brilliant love this book and the series

      Reply

    21. One of the BEST King Arthur series, very well written. More of a historical novel than the usual Arthur stories. A must read.

      Reply

    22. Had to return to the Library :(

      Reply

    23. This was a brilliant end to the trilogy! Even though I knew the Arthurian legends, I loved the way Hume handled the characters and the plot. I recommend this to any fan of the Arthurian legends.

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *